Archive for July 17th, 2014

July 17, 2014

Flowers in the ruins

by Penny BroJacquie

ruins

The last seven years I had dived to the deepest parts of my soul. I had to deal with a toxic workplace friendship that derailed my professional career as a journalist, I had to cope with my mother’s depression, I had to face friendships that made me feel small and unhappy.

The sudden loss of a close friend of mine was devastating but at the same time it was the light at the end of the tunnel. It was then when I realised I wasn’t happy with the way my life was.

When I was made redundant, six months ago, it was the happiest time of my life in seven years. I was ready for a career change and the timing was perfect.

I was finally free.

With the redundancy payment, I’ve been able to pay my living and to organise my next professional step. Writing, crafting, baking and traveling have been my truest passions since my childhood. So I rolled up my sleeves to find a way to work it out.

My country Greece is in the middle of recession but I’m determined to keep fighting.

I opened two Etsy shops, one with handmade jewellery and one with digital photography. I finished the travel guide I always wanted to write and I’m ready to self publish.

I have a lot to learn,  And who knows, maybe I’ll be able to finish the novel I started writing two years ago.

There always be flowers growing in the ruins.

Tags: